
Player’s Guide



GAMEPLAY

The objective of Space War: in Space! is to capture all Cards of opposing Players’ Faction.  

Players begin by choosing one of the 

available Factions, such as Dwarves, 

Goblins, or Elves, and setting aside their 

Faction’s Power Card unless otherwise 

noted.  Players then shuffle their Decks 

and place their Cards face-down in front 

of them.

Setup

Power Card Draw Pile Discard Pile

Play begins with Players drawing a card 

from the top of their deck and playing it 

face-up in the Battlefield 

simultaneously.  This is known as a 

Contest and consists of two 

possibilities: Battle and War.  During a 

Contest, Players then compare the 

number on each revealed card - known 

as a Card’s Strength - with the highest 

Card collecting all Cards, and placing 

them in their Discard Pile. 

Contest: Battle

WINNER

 If, at any point, two face-up cards result in a tie, the affected Players go to War.  



Otherwise, Players are considered to have had a Battle.



Whenever a Player runs out of cards from their deck, they gather Cards from their Discard Pile, shuffle, and create a new, face-down 

Deck.  If no Cards remain in a Player’s Discard Pile or in their Deck, that Player is eliminated from the Game and 

considered Conquered.



Faction Powers are only usable by the Player who Controls that Faction unless otherwise noted.




WAR

War takes place with each Participating Player placing two Cards from their Decks face-down next to their originally laid Card.  Then, 

participating Players simultaneously draw and reveal a third Card, placing this card face-up with the winner collecting all Cards within 

the pile - both face-up and face-down - and adding them to their Discard Piles.  

Contest: War

WINNER!

In the event of further ties, the War process is repeated, adding one less Card to the Contest face-down.  If a participating Player cannot 

add cards to a War, they must add as many Cards as they are able with all other Participating Players matching their contribution.  



If a Participating Player cannot add any Cards to a War, they are automatically removed from the Game and considered Conquered.

War with 3+ Players

In the event of a War involving more than two Players, only the Players whose Strength tied participate in the War, and only if those tied 

Player’s Strength was the highest Strength in the Contest.  If two Players tied but a third Player has a higher Strength than the 

Participating Player’s who tied, a War does not occur, and that Third Player collects all Cards, adding them to their Discard Pile as 

normal, unless otherwise noted.  



Further, if a War occurs, the winner of the War collects all Cards added to the Contest originally, adding those Cards to their Discard 

Piles as normal, unless otherwise noted, even if those collected Cards did not Participate in the War.


WINNING & LOSING THE GAME

The game ends when every Player but one has been Conquered.  A Conquered result is when a Player’s face-down deck has run out, and 

they have no cards remaining in their Discard Piles with which to create a new face-down Deck.  A Player can also be Conquered during 

a War when they have no additional cards to add to the War.  



The last remaining, Unconquered Player is the Victor. 




FACTION POWERS

Most, but not all factions have a Power Card. Check your deck before play begins and set the Power 
Card aside. Unless noted, Faction Powers begin in play on their Inactive side (black and white) and 
become Active (full color) through various card effects, often when a Faction Leader is revealed and 
the criteria on their Card is met.  Faction Powers remain Active until they are Triggered 
either by their Faction’s Player or removed by another Card’s effect, resulting in the Faction 
Power being flipped back to their Inactive side. 



If a Faction Power is already Active, their Player ignores the conditions which Activate a Faction Power.  
For example: Player A is playing the Elves Faction and they reveal The Spirit of the Forest.  After 
winning a Battle with The Spirit of the Forest, the Elves’ Faction Power PEACE is Activated, and is 
flipped from its Inactive side to its Active side face-up.  After running out of Cards and shuffling their 
Discard Pile, Player A later reveals The Spirit of the Forest a second time without having yet opted to 
Trigger Peace during play.  Player A does not get a second use of Peace because they have 
not yet Triggered their card.  Instead, the Faction Power remains Activated and available until it is 
finally Triggered and flipped face-down to its Inactive side.  It will not become Active again until The 
Spirit of the Forest conditions are again met.



Some cards are labeled as Permanent and have no Inactive side.  These Cards are considered to be 
Active at all times, unless otherwise noted, Triggering only when the conditions on their Faction Power 
Card have been met. 

Power Cards

active

inactive

Faction Powers are only usable by the Player who Controls that Faction unless otherwise noted.



Continuing the above example with Player A: suppose Player A is playing against Player B who Controls the Troll Faction.  Player A 
Captures Player B’s Leader Card, Chieftain.  Later in the game, Player A reveals the Chieftain Card and wins the Contest.  Player A does 
not fulfill the Chieftain’s Regeneration Power because as he Controls the Elves Faction not the Troll Faction.  In this instance, the 
Chieftain Card simply acts as if its text box were blank.  Similarly, were Player B to Capture The Spirit of the Forest from Player A, 
Player B does not take the Peace Faction Power, nor do they receive any bonus when playing The Spirit of the Forest as they Control the 
Troll Faction and only receive bonuses from their Faction’s Power Card.



TERMINOLOGY

Activate - Flipping an Inactive Power onto its Active side (colored side) so it can then be Triggered. 



After winning a Battle - refers to the window of time after a Battle occurs when the Strength of all Participating Cards has been 
checked and all Participating Cards have been placed in the Winner’s Discard Pile, but before the beginning of another Contest.  



Battle - a Contest where two or more Players have flipped Cards face-up from their Decks and added them to the Battlefield.  



Battlefield - the space between all Players where Faction Cards are added to a Contest.



Before Battle begins - refers to the window in which Participating Cards have been revealed face-up into the Battlefield, but before 
Strength has been checked.



Capture - After a Contest has concluded and Strength calculated, the Winner of the Contest moves all Participating Cards to their 
Discard Pile.  This act is known as Capturing.



Contest - refers to either a Battle or a War.



Controls - The Player who first selected a Faction at the start of the Game is considered to be Controlling that Faction for the 
remainder of the Game, unless otherwise noted.



Faction - a set of Cards which make up a specified Team or Group such as Goblins, Dwarves, or Elves.



Inactive - when a Faction Power is on its black-and-white side and cannot be Triggered.



Permanent - refers to the state of a Faction Power in which the Power is always on its Active side and has no Inactive side.  



Trigger - the act of either choosing to use a Faction Power or a mandatory use Faction Power after specific conditions have been met.



War - refers to a Contest between two or more Players in which a tie has occurred.  See the War Section of the Rules for further details 
and clarifications.
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